terewmoto.blogg.se

Jesus is king
Jesus is king







  1. Jesus is king movie#
  2. Jesus is king full#

Jesus is king full#

I’m looking at a theater full of people who don’t look like me, who are paying considerable money listening to our native sound and eagerly anticipating an album about the lover of my soul (Jesus). Launching into a medley of songs more common in my black southern childhood home than unsweet tea I got teary eyed. (Let’s just say, there is a reason why he made his fortune rapping and doing other things.) Finally, Kanye sings…which makes it abundantly evident that he’s singing from his heart and not for entertainment value. In other words, he’s saying “It’s not about me.” In fact there are no cameos by well-known Gospel artists. When we do get a glance of him prior to that, his back is turned to the camera. We don’t fully see him until almost 30 minutes into the 35 minute film. Kanye is normally the center of attention. Unfortunately, I will need to provide detailed coverage of those in another article at another time. What other mainstream film has people of all faith persuasions, excited to read the Bible? This is one of at least four other really powerful takeaways for me beyond the aforementioned points. Each song was woven together by simple yet powerful biblical truths that I heard people in the audience whispering aloud as the were reading. At one point I considered how helpful lyrics on the screen would be for the viewers, but Kanye chose for the only text to be the text that matters most: scripture. IT IS NOT ENTERTAINMENT, IT IS AN ENCOUNTER.īecause it was mainly choir-driven black Gospel music, many who do not have a trained ear for that genre will not understand the lyrics to some of the songs. As the choir is slaying a bridge about “Joy” that takes me directly back to 1994 at our family’s Oak Grove Missionary Baptist Church I glanced over at my daughter and my queen to see them both giggling with delight. This film and the audio engineering certainly captured that reality with the Sunday Service choir. Despite the beauty and the power of the compositions I was certain that my (super sensitive to loud noises) wife would be unable to bear it. When our singers began to hit, it would sometimes sound like the walls are about to leap off of their foundations. Not to be unhealthily afrocentric or egotistical but we traveled to places where choirs of other ethnicities three times our size sang, and it was super quiet. My mother was a Gospel choir director and it was amazing how much vocal power she extracted out of just a small group of singers. This dynamic could clearly vary from cinema to cinema, but being completely immersed in the sound is part of the goal behind releasing it in IMAX. I’m certain that I will pay the price in my elderly years after a lifetime of drumming and years of punishing sound systems in my car, back when that was cool (if ever?) However, the first 10 minutes of the film was so loud, I wondered if I needed to leave to purchase ear plugs. I love listening to things at full crank. The cinematography is beautiful, the shots are clean, the editing is surgical, and of course the soundtrack draws our focus toward all things ethereal and sovereign. If that were absent, you still wouldn’t want to peel your eyes away from the screen. This may be frustrating for some but it’s an element of mystery that is also works in the films favor and makes it somewhat captivating. A brief description of this film exists, but you really don’t know where it is headed from scene to scene. This sets an expectation for what you’re paying to see. Most films possess what is called a log-line which summarizes the general direction of the movie. It’s a film that begins at the resolution and points to all of these elements by the very nature of what…or rather whom, the subject is about. This is not a documentary or a narrative feature film that is driven by a story with a definitive setting, protagonist, antagonist, conflict, climax, and resolution.

Jesus is king movie#

IT IS AN ART PIECE.Īrt films are a unique genre of movie that are aimed at a niche and tend to be a lot more abstract. However, it’s great to watch the credits and give props to those that put hard work into the film. Unfortunately, this is not a Marvel film so there are no hidden scenes afterwards. Most people sat through the end of the credits because it ends so abruptly that it takes a while for our brains to process that it is actually fully over. They arrived at about 7:20, just in time to catch the closing scenes and the credits. Another couple who was joining us, assumed that there were previews. Thankfully, we arrived one-minute after the 7:00pm show time and made it to our seat during the opening scene. I know that IMAX movies are generally short but in buying the tickets I never specifically looked at the runtime.









Jesus is king